Quick enquiry


Is this a business enquiry?

Enquire Now

Cisco exam changes

Important updates to Cisco exams

What is Cisco doing?

Streamlining and updating all certifications. In particular consolidating the Associate level training and certification for networking engineers – one course, one exam covers the fundamental topics for all network technologies.

The CCNA is now a comprehensive exam that covers entry level networking skills across technologies, such as basic IP fundamentals, network access, IP connectivity, and basics of automation and network programmability, and security fundamental skills, because a breadth of skills is needed when first entering networking.

Last date to sit any current exam

23 February 2020

Exams Affected

  • CCNA Cloud
  • CCNA Collaboration
  • CCNA Data Center
  • CCNA Industrial
  • CCDA
  • CCDP
  • CCNP Cloud
  • CCNP Collaboration
  • CCNP Data Center
  • CCNP Routing & Switching
  • CCNP Security
  • CCNP Service Provider
  • CCNP Wireless
  • CCNA Routing and Switching
  • CCNA Security
  • CCNA Service Provider
  • CCNA Wireless

No Pre-requisites

An important change is that there will be no prerequisites to start earning your associate, specialist, professional or expert level certification. So the CCNA certification will no longer be required as a prerequisite for professional certifications, giving learners the ability to start where they choose in their learning journey

What’s new at the Associate level?

New DevNet certifications at the associate, (as well as specialist and professional levels) to validate your software development skills.

Cisco DevNet is Cisco’s developer program to help developers and IT professionals who want to write applications and develop integrations with Cisco products, platforms, and APIs. Cisco DevNet includes Cisco’s products in software-defined networking, security, cloud, data center, mobility, internet of things, collaboration, services and open-source software development

What’s new at the Professional Level?

New specialist certifications to validate skills in line with job role and interests the entire network lifecycle of designing, deploying, operating and optimizing complex network scenarios.

Cisco have refocused CCNP and CCIE programmes to align with the five principal technologies, including Enterprise, Security, Service Provider, Collaboration and Data Center. Retired programs have been consolidated into these technology tracks.

For example, they’ve consolidated Wireless into the Enterprise track, as wireless skills are critical in any enterprise deployment. Where subject matter fit into more than one potential track, as was the case with Automation and Programming, the subject matter became a concentration exam in multiple CCNP technology tracks. Where this is the case, the same content will be leveraged across tracks

What is a technology core exam?

A technology core exam is one of the two exams required for CCNP, CCIE, and Cisco Certified DevNet Professional certifications.

For CCNP and CCIE, there are five technology core exams available, focused on Enterprise, Security, Service Provider, Collaboration and Data Center.

Technology core exams cover the foundational and common concepts that are required for a candidate to be proficient in a technology architecture.

For Cisco Certified DevNet Professional, there is one DevNet core exam.

What is a concentration exam?

A concentration exam is one of the two exams required for professional-level certification (CCNP). Concentration exams take a deeper dive into a relevant and related technology to the core, allowing the candidate to choose a topic that is either of interest or related to his or her chosen technology area of focus.

For CCNP, there are concentration exams for all five technology tracks, Enterprise, Security, Service Provider, Collaboration and Data Center.

There are also multiple concentration exams available for Cisco Certified DevNet Professional.

What are the options for concentration exams?

Options for concentration exams can be found at the corresponding CCNP pages, listed on the Cisco website

Continuing education credits for recertification and ongoing development are available for CCNA, Cisco Certified Specialist, CCNP and CCIE.

What about current certifications?

Current certification is still valid and will be active until the expiration date